General Organization of the Government

The Republic of Suriname is a constitutional democracy. The legislative powers of the State are attributed to the National Assembly of Suriname, which is the highest political body of the state. This Parliament consists of 51 members, elected by popular vote for a period of five years.

The Vice President of the Republic is elected in a similar process. The Vice President is the Chair of the Council of Ministers.

A State Advisory Council consisting of 15 members advises the President in the conduct of policies. These members are:

  • representatives of all political parties represented in the National Assembly
  • representatives of Unions
  • representatives of Industry

Justice is exercised by an independent Court of Justice, of which the members are appointed for life by the President in consultation with the National Assembly, the State Advisory Council and the National Order of Private Attorneys.

The highest executive and administrative power is exercised by a Council of 16 Ministers, representing an equal number of ministries, appointed by the President.

Administrative Divisions

Suriname is divided in ten administrative districts, namely Brokopondo, Commewijne, Coronie, Marowijne, Nickerie, Para, Paramaribo, Saramacca, Sipaliwini, Wanica. Each district has a fixed number of resorts, gathered from the total area. The District Commissioner (DC) is the Administrative Head and also chairman of the District Council. The DC is assisted by a District Secretary and a number of other executive officials.

Composition of the Government of the Republic of Suriname

His Excellency Chandrikapersad Santokhi
President of the Republic of Suriname
Kleine Combeweg 2-4, Paramaribo
Ph. (597) 472841
His Excellency Ronnie Brunswijk
Vice-President of the Republic of Suriname and Chairman of the Council of Ministers
Dr. Sophie Redmondstraat 118, Paramaribo
Ph. (597) 474805/411354
F. (597) 472917
His Excellency Ambassador Albert R. Ramdin
Minister of Foreign Affairs, International Business and International Cooperation
Henck Arronstraat 8, Paramaribo
Ph. (597) 471209/471756
F. (597) 410411
Minister of Natural Resources
Mr. Dr. J.C. de Mirandastraat 11-13, Paramaribo
Ph. (597) 410160/421455
F. (597) 472911
Minister of Public Works, Transport and Communication
Mr. J. Lachmonstraat 167, Paramaribo
Ph. (597) 462500/490777
F. (597) 464901
Minister of Trade and Industry and Tourism
Havenlaan Noord,Paramaribo
Ph. (597) 402886/404834
F. (597) 402602
Minister of Defense
Kwattaweg 29, Paramaribo
Ph. (597) 422611/474244
F. (597) 420055
Minister of Education, Science and Culture
Dr. S. Kaffiludistraat 117-123
Ph. (597) 498850/498005/497954/491332
F. (597) 495083
Minister of Sports and Youth Affairs
Frederick Derbystraat 53
Ph. (597) 434043
F. (597) 434043
Minister of Home Affairs
Wilhelminastraat 3, Paramaribo
Ph. (597) 476461/473438
F. (597) 421170
Minister of Health
Henck Arronstraat 64,Paramaribo
Ph. (597) 474941
F. (597) 410702
Minister of Social Affairs and Housing
Waterkant 30, Paramaribo
Ph. (597) 472340/478624
F. (597) 470516
Minister of Finance
Toren van Financi-n, 1st Floor
Tamarindelaan 03, Onafhankelijkheidsplein
Paramaribo Suriname
Ph. (597) 472610/479577
F. (597)476314
Minister of Regional Development
Van Rooseveltkade 2, Paramaribo
Ph. (597) 471574
F. (597) 424517
Minister of Agriculture, Animal Husbandry and Fisheries
Letitia Vriesdelaan 8-10,Paramaribo
Ph. (597) 477698/477830
F. (597) 470301
Minister of Justice and Police
Henck Arronstraat 1, Paramaribo
Ph. (597) 473841/473033
F. (597) 420326
Minister of Labor
Eduard Brumastraat 52, Paramaribo
Ph. (597) 475241
F. (597) 410465
Minister of Physical Planning, Land and Forestry Management
Adres: Cornelis Jongbawstraat 10 - 12
Ph. (597) 471178/470700
F. (597) 470876

Copyright © 2016 - All Rights Reserved -